How do you show people you love that you care?

photo from themesbank.com/blog/

The article below was written by an editor from Feministing.com, a great feminist blog. It talks about showing love to the people who mean a lot to you, but is not your romantic partner. This article interested me because recently I was talking to my co-workers at the RCFP about this topic. How do we show love to people who are not our romantic partners? We suggested starting a national holiday for best friends, but then we decided that it could end badly, since most people have more than one best friend. People would be requesting a table for thirty or someone would get angry becausetheir best friend wanted to spend the day with someone else.

So then the question remains, how do you show love to those you appreciate, but is not your romantic partner? For me, I like to send random texts letting my closest friends know I miss them and love them. Or I will send a text when something random happens that makes me think of him/her- like a song on the radio, TV show or food/drink I am eating.

There are so many ways to show those you love and appreciate that you care. There does not need to be a designated holiday; it should be every day.

How do you show the love?

By Miriam | Published: February 14, 2012

So obviously it’s Valentine’s Day. You’d have to be hiding in a cave, with no access to media or facebook, to be able to avoid it. And if you were in said cave, you wouldn’t be reading my blog post.

Anyways, it’s Valentine’s Day and there is a lot to be said about the many many things wrong with the holiday. But what I want to use this hook to talk about is how we show the love to people in our lives OTHER than romantic partners. The irony of Valentine’s Day, for me, is that our romantic partners are probably the people we show the most love to, most often. Think about it. If you are in a romantic relationship, chances are you express affection towards that person constantly, whether through physical displays of affection, saying I love you, or sending cute texts.

But what about the other people in your life that you love and appreciate, even if you aren’t romantically involved with them? Those relationships deserve a national holiday, so you can remember not to take your friends for granted, or even your neighbor, or the person you see on the bus.

I have to admit I borrowed this question from a board meeting I was at this weekend at the Astraea Foundation.

I answered this question by sharing that this year, I’ve tried to institute a practice of sending gratitude cards to friends whenever I want to appreciate them and their role in my life. I found some nifty ones on etsy, gathered up some stamps and away I went.

A notecard that says: "You're f$%&*&^ amazing"From a.favorite on Etsy

So, Feministing readers, how do you show the love to the people in your life who aren’t your romantic partners?

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in Transnational and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

