Originally posted on National Post | News:

  • Turkey urges citizens to quit Syria
  • Kofi Annan to brief UN Security Council on Friday
  • Pro-Assad forces fire in protesters at rallies

By Jon Hemming

Richard Johnson/National Post

ANKARA — Turkey said on Friday it might set up a border “buffer zone” to protect growing numbers of Syrian refugees fleeing a violent uprising against President Bashar al-Assad.

With the bloody revolt entering its second year, government forces battled protesters in at least three suburbs of the capital Damascus, opposition activists said. They also reported flare-ups in other towns and cities.

The U.N.-Arab League envoy Kofi Annan was due to brief the United Nations Security Council later in the day on his efforts to end the violence, but there was no sign of any breakthrough.

Assad faced growing international isolation as more Arab states announced they were shutting their embassies and the Turkish Foreign Ministry said it “strongly urged” its citizens to leave…

View original 623 more words

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in United States. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

