My visit to the National Museum of American History

On Saturday February 4, I visited the National Museum of American History.  It amazed me how much this young country has gone through since its founding 236 years ago.  From the wars it has endured, the racism it has overcome (but is still fighting), the pop culture which has influenced our lives, the presidents who have shaped and changed our nation and the list can go on.  America has been through a lot and it has, for the most part, been able to overcome and prevail the obstacles it has faced.

While I was at the museum, I took photos of the exhibits I particularly liked.

POP  CULTURE

The muppets

Charlie Brown

Dorothy's ruby slippers from The Wizard of Oz

 

FIRST LADIES’ DRESSES

Caroline Scott Harrison's evening dress (wife to President William Henry Harrison)

Eleanor Roosevelt's Inaugural Gown

Jacqueline Kennedy's state dinner dress

 

AMERICA AT WAR

This is how they used to treat wounds...Thank God for modern medicine

amazing quote from a Native American

 

Great quote from Abe Lincoln, my favorite president

the Berlin Wall falls


About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in United States and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment