ICC Issues Arrest Warrant for Sudanese Defense Minister

The International Criminal Court has issued an arrest warrant for the Sudanese Defense Minister Abdel Rahim Muhammad Hussein, according to The Sudan Tribune.

Hussein is among several people who “bear great responsibility” for the ethnic cleansing that occurred in Darfur from 2003-2004.

The ICC stated that there are sufficient grounds to hold Hussein responsible fro “20 counts of crimes against humanity, including persecution and rape, and 21 counts of war crimes, including murder and attacks on civilians,” according to the article.

There have been several other Sudanese officials who have been indicted by the court, but none have been arrested.

For so long, the international community did little to show countries that genocide will not be tolerated. For instance, the International Court of Justice, which settles disputes between countries, was established in 1946, right after WWII and the Holocaust ended.

However, it was not until the 1990s that it received its first genocide case- the Bosnian Genocide. That is nearly 50 years later. That is crazy!

The only problem with the ICJ is that it does not have jurisdiction to deal with people related to these crimes. That is where the ICC comes in. The ICC was established in 2002 to hold trials for individuals involved in crimes.

That is why I am very happy that officials involved in the Darfur genocide (and other crimes in general) have been indicted by the ICC because it shows that crimes against humanity will not be tolerated.

Millions have died at the hands of genocides. But I am hoping that both the ICC and ICJ will gain power and be seen as a real force (and it starts with indicting people). And hopefully, it will enable people to think twice before they decide to murder thousands of innocent individuals.

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in Africa, Transnational and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

