UPDATE: the man in webcam video testifies in court

According to the Associated Press, the man who was seen on the webcam video at Rutgers University kissing Tyler Clementi, who later committed suicide, testified in court Friday.

M.B., whose identity is being protected because he is considered a victim of an alleged sex crime, was romantically involved with Clementi. He came to Clementi’s dorm room at RU three times, beginning on Sept. 16.

Clementi’s roommate, Dharun Ravi is the one who allegedly set up the webcam so other RU students could watch Clementi and M.B.’s encounter. Ravi currently faces charges of bias intimidation, invasion of privacy and other crimes.

According to the article, the second visit to Clementi’s dorm room on Sept. 19 was when the alleged spying took place and when M.B. noticed the webcam. M.B.

He testified that he saw the webcam and noticed that it was faced towards the bed. Clementi and M.B. had sex that night, but witnesses testified that they did not see anything more than kissing.

As M.B. left Clementi’s dorm room that night, five students looked at him and it was “unsettling,” he said.

Clementi and M.B.’s third encounter is when the alleged invasion of privacy occurred.

M.B. testified that he had heard comments coming from the courtyard outside the dorm, but he was not able to testify about what he heard.

This case has garnered a lot of attention as a prime example of cyberbullying and for the frustrations the LGBT community faces.

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in United States and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

