In the Office: “Want to Go on an Adventure?”

Today at work around 4 p.m. one of my co-workers came to where me and the other two interns sit. While looking at his phone he said to us, “Do you want to go on an adventure? It will be about half an hour.” Hesitantly, we said “OK.” He would not tell us where we were going.

My boss told us to wear our coats, take off our jewelry, bring our phone and wash our hands. We were sure we were either going to the petting zoo, taken somewhere to be abandoned or we were going to be killed.

The seven of us- my boss, three co-workers, the two other interns and I- left. We washed our hands and put on our jacket, but we chose to kept on our jewelry.

We had no idea where we would be going.

Once we left our office and were outside, they asked if we had our metro card. Then my boss said we can either take the metro or walk five miles to the place. We decided to walk.

So we proceeded up the hill in Rosslyn. We (the other two interns and I) were sketched out. Where could we possibly be going?

About three blocks up the hill, we turned right and entered a parking garage. OK, I thought, maybe we are driving somewhere. We proceeded down two or three flights of stairs to the bottom level of the parking garage.

It was a very weird situation. I was not sure what to think. Are theyreally here to kill us? I obviously did not believe that, but under the circumstance- being taken to the bottom of a parking garage- anything could happen.

We walked to the end of the parking garage and stopped.

We were at the spot where Deep Throat (Mark Felt) met Bob Woodward ofThe Washington Postsix times between 1972 and 1973 to devulge information regarding the involvement of Richard Nixon’s administration in (what would be called) The Watergate Scandal.

They had taken us to a historical landmark just blocks from our office. A location that we passed EVERYDAY going to work but had missed.

The location where Deep Throat met Bob Woodward

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in United States and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

