VIDEO: Bill in Utah Calling for Abstinence Curriculum Only

This video from Newsy provides interesting coverage about Utah’s passage of a bill that would essentially enable schools to drop sexual education all together if they do not want to provide an abstinence only curriculum. The bill also prohibits teachers from talking about being gay or the use of contraception in school.

 

This is problematic on so many levels. First, I am sorry but abstinence is just not a reality, and by ignoring the reality (many teens have sex) people are just perpetuating ignorance and making the situation worst. Second, (I am sorry but) parents do not provide children with adequate knowledge about sex. Parents often find the topic uncomfortable and choose to either ignore the subject all together or they slim down the conversation to a bear minimum. For instance, my parents and I did not have the “sex talk” until I was already sexual active. And furthermore my parents missed out on the most important information. I am sure similar situations happened to many teenagers.

But this does not help the situation. In fact, it only makes it worst. Sex education needs to be taught before children become sexually active and they need to be informed enough to make smart choices. That is where schools come in. They provide students with adequate knowledge about STDs, pregnancy, safe sex, abstinence and other things that help students understand sex thoroughly.

The current bill in Utah will only have negative repercussions as STDs and teen pregnancies rise because teenagers are not properly educated on safe sex. Also, the amount of harm it will do to LGBT teens coming to terms with who they are. By banning speech about homosexuality in school, the LGBT community will only think that being who they are is not right (when there is absolutely nothing wrong with it). A school setting can be a safe haven for students because they confide in teachers or form/join an LGBT group in their school (if there is one).

This bill is just outrageous and needs to be stopped. I cannot think of one good thing to come out of it.

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in United States and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

