Racism seen in fans of Hunger Games

PLEASE read this story from Jezebel about the racist attitudes towards Hunger Games‘ cast. It talks about how people who, after watching the movie, tweeted how they did not understand why Rue, Thresh, and Cinna were played by Black actors.

In fact, one fan said the movie was “ruined.”

photo from article

And this tweet…

photo from article

…why can’t black characters be good ones? Why do they always have to be bad? You know, there are good black people. In fact, most (if not all) black people I know are good people. So I am confused why people are stuck on the notion that black people can only be portrayed as bad.

The tweet that I found particularly appalling was:

photo from article

I am sorry but this is ridiculous. You were not as sad about Rue’s death because she was black! WOW!

It is this type of racism and misunderstanding about Black people that perpetuate the stereotypes and hinders societal improvements.

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in United States and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Racism seen in fans of Hunger Games

  1. Bob W Cain says:

    I totally agree with what you are saying … But does the prison system not contradict your point … Where next?
    Get all the black guys out who are in for unreal crimes like … smoking a joint, being caught in possession … Now that’s 50% back home … !
    It’s all a state of mind … White, Black, Purple or Green … We are all the same! …. And … People are waking up to this fact … Not Long Now …. Love you all!

    • Haley Behre says:

      The prison system does not contradict my point because the prison system is a reflection of society, meaning it is just as racist. It is no coincidence that the prisons are filled with people of color. It is not a coincidence that 40 percent of Blacks are in prison, even though they only make up 13 percent of the population (https://haleybehre.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/prison-industrial-complex-the-truth-about-prisons/). Furthermore, many people of color who are in jail are in jail for crimes (like selling drugs etc) that their white counterparts are only given “slaps on the wrists” for.

      • Bob W Cain says:

        The prison system does contradict your point … But you are missing mine … The problem lies with attitude and the way people have been bought up! … It’s about pre programed expectations … And I did refer to the fact that half the prison population is in there for minor drug offenses! … Not real crime! …

      • Haley Behre says:

        I am sorry I missed that point … I am in the middle of a deadline and replied very quickly (shouldn’t have done that). I totally agree…it is all about attitude and the way people are brought up! It is a real shame to see society claim that they are “color blind” and “past” race yet act like this. I wish people would take off their rosy colored glasses for a minute to see reality!

  2. Pingback: SERIOUSLY? PEOPLE? THIS RACISM HAS TO STOP NOW – HUNGER GAMES??? « THE WORD WARRIOR Bonju Blog

Leave a Reply

