U.S. soldier dies after saving young girl’s life in Afghanistan

Among all the heartache, injustice and death in the world, one must remember that there is also beauty, strength and heroism.

This morning, I read this story from ABC News about a U.S. soldier who died in Afghanistan after he saved an Afghan girl’s life.

Sgt. Dennis Weichel, 29, died last week after he removed a young girl from harms way. She and some friends were on the road picking up shell casings, which are recycled for money in Afghanistan, when Weichel and fellow soldiers got out of their truck to move the children out of the way of other heavy trucks.

The children were moved to safety, but one of the girls darted back onto the road to collect more casings that lay under a passing Mine Resistant Ambush Protected Vehicle (MRAP). Weichel quickly moved to get the young girl out of the way. He was able to do so, but not before he was run over by the truck.

Weichel died from his injuries.

It is little stories like this that make me remember how beautiful the world can be because sometimes I forget. I know it ended tragically, but I think the story is beautiful. It takes great courage to put your life on the line, especially for someone you do not know. Weichel was selfless in his last moments on earth and I think that is truly touching. I wish more people were like Weichel and could act selflessly, instead of selfishly. Too often now a days are people filled with selfish thoughts that they often forget there are 6 billion other people on this planet. Maybe if we had more people like Weichel in the world, there would not be so much hatred, despair, death and war.

In his last moment, he gave a lifetime- and for that he died a hero.

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in Asia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to U.S. soldier dies after saving young girl’s life in Afghanistan

  1. Bob W Cain says:

    A good man in a bad situation … Bravo! …. There is still some good in the World.

Leave a Reply

