MOVIE: Deadline

“I’m a fool for the truth”

Last night I went to the premiere of Deadline in Washington D.C. The movie, which is based on a true story, is about two journalists living in Tennessee who decide to investigate the unsolved murder of an African American teen in Alabama nineteen years after the murder occurred. For almost two decades, the murder went “uninvestigated, unsolved and unpunished.” But that changes when The Nashville Times reporter Matt Harper (Steve Talley) meets a young woman in rural Alabama who wants to discover the truth.

The movie is adapted from Mark Ethridge’s novel Grievances and is a story about murder, truth, race and redemption for a small town and for Harper. And while the movie is set in modern day and the murder occurred in 1993, the actual events occurred in the 1970s. According to the director, they chose to transpose the time of the murder and subsequent investigation to modern day so that people would not think that the issue of murder motivated by racist attitudes is a thing of the past–because it is not. Just look at what is happening today in the newspaper– the Trayvon Martin murder, Tulsa murders, Britain’s parliament revoking its double jeopardy because of accusations of racism, etc.

Racism is still very much alive and this movie sheds light on that fact.

I must admit, I was skeptical about the movie at first. I was not sure what to expect- after all it was not done by Hollywood. But I have to say, I was surprised. I really enjoyed the movie. It was a movie that portrayed racism and investigative journalism (two things that many people see as being “dead”) in a beautiful and balanced light–shedding truth on both of them.

If this movie is in a theater near you, I advise that you check it out!

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in United States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

