Come see the African Children’s Choir on Nov. 23

choir-singing

 

            “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
— Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Become part of the movement.

Join us and see how one group of children use song to
inspire change and end the poverty cycle.

The African Children’s Choir, which began in the 1980s with one man’s travels to Uganda, has sparked a movement to end the continent’s poverty cycle. The choir is composed of African children ages 7 to 10, many of who have lost one or both of their parents to war, famine or disease. The choir members represent all of Africa’s children and demonstrate the potential that each and every one of them holds. Through the program, thousands of children from various African countries are removed from their poverty-stricken homes and invited to travel the world, raising awareness and support for their brothers and sisters back home. Through song and dance, the choir gains support to fund education and youth development programs for children across Africa.

This choir is a symbol of hope and an example of the enormous impact one person can have. I would like to invite you to end the poverty cycle by donating to my campaign to support the African Children’s Choir.

The African Children’s Choir will be performing on Saturday, November 23, 2013 at 7 p.m. at Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School (4301 East-West Highway,  Bethesda, Maryland 20816). This free performance is open to the public, but the choir does accept donations to support programs

To donate to the cause, visit http://africanchildrenschoir.com/help/give-now/ . Please put “November 23- Bethesda Event” in the notes section when donating.

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in United States and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

