Kofi Annan goes to Iran to bolster support for Syrian conflict

According to the Huffington Post, U.N. special envoy Kofi Annan said in Tehran that Iran could help resolve the crisis in Syria, where bloodshed has continued despite a ceasefire agreement that begins tomorrow.

Annan went to Iran, who is one of Syria’s strongest allies– Russia is another– to bolster support amidst his faltering six-point plan. His deadline for troops to begin to withdraw beginning Tuesday has already been broken. And while Syrian forces have said they will honor the next deadline, a ceasefire beginning Thursday, the international community is hesitant to believe it.

While the international community has created a plan that calls for the ousting of Syrian President Bashar al-Assad, Iran has opposed foreign intervention and says that “change in Syria” should happen under al-Assad’s rule.

related article: CNN and Fox News

About Haley Behre

I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2011 with majors in newspaper journalism and women and gender studies. Using these majors, I aspire to become a journalist who writes about human rights issues. I have held internships at the Syracuse New Times, Dash Media PR Firm, Syracuse Post-Standard and the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. I also had an internship at the Not For Sale Campaign Syracuse chapter, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to eradicating human trafficking. I was born in Seoul, Korea on September 30, 1990 and moved to the United States before I was one year old. When I was 8, my family and I moved to Norwich, England for three years. While I was here I was immersed into a new culture and got to experience many things other children my age do not get to. Over the three years, I visited Ireland, France and the Netherlands several times, and Belgium, Wales and Sweden once. In the winter of 2010, I got an amazing opportunity to visit Kenya for a month. This was by far the single most eye-opening experience of my life thus far. The natural beauty of the landscape and its people do not compare to anything I have seen. I currently intern for the Reporters Committee for the Freedom of the Press in the hopes of getting a full-time job at a newspaper or non-profit after.
This entry was posted in Asia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kofi Annan goes to Iran to bolster support for Syrian conflict

  1. Pingback: Syrian ceasefire: Never say ‘never again’ | Intentious

  2. Pingback: UN urges Syria over voluntary ceasefire « Cicero Lounge

Leave a comment